National Arena League Round 1

  • October 11, 2016

LOBSC took a compliment of 32 swimmers and travelled with Belle Coaches to Wellingborough on 8 October 2016 to compete in the first round of the Arena National Swimming League against the likes of Wellingborough, St Ives, Loughborough and Dereham.

LOBSC placed well early on, taking silvers in both the Girls 9/11 and Boys 9/11 years freestyle relays and we picked up the first gold of the night in the boys 13/u medley relay, with a great performance by Luke Barton, Harry Swann, Brandon Riley and Jack Pallant in a time of 02:16.92 (who later one went on to win the freestyle relay also)

We didn’t have long to wait for the next first places to arrive, with Joe McGillivray comfotably winning the 10/11 boys 50m backstroke in a time of 36.35 and Kiara Jessop, 13/u following that up with a tense 100m breastroke win in 01:28.43.

Other wins came courtsey of Luke Barton in the 100m butterfly 01:13.51 (13/u) and then 3 wins in a row shortly afterwards with Harrison Holmes in the 50m freestyle 34.04 (10/11), Brandon Riley in the 100m freestyle 01:06.00 (13/u) and Katie Lines in the 100m breastroke 01:17.38 (15/u) giving LOBSC a small buffer over the teams chasing second spot.

Although St Ives always looked strong and never likely to drop many points, the rest of the teams were nip and tuck, with LOBSC managing to stretch slightly away from the other teams only in the latter rounds, showing some strength in depth claiming 8 first places and 12 second places and 15 thirds, showing consistency is key.

In no uncertain terms, it was a fantastic team performance and there were PBs across the board and each and every swimmer left everything they had in the pool, unfortunately it would take up pages describing each and every one of the 50 events that took place.

Congratulations to St Ives SC on their win and we look forward to Round Two which will take place on Saturday 12 November (venue and teams TBC)

Final Table
St Ives: 238
Lowestoft: 203
Dereham: 188
Beccles: DNA

Thanks go to the coaches, Richard Every, Martin Boots, Peter Swann and Mark Hitter, the volunteers poolside Debbie Swann and Jan Lines and of course to our LOBSC Team:

Brandon Greenwood, Brandon Riley, Oliver Simpson, Syd Newnham-Stebbings, James Boots, Sam Every, Sonny Ling, Harry Garner, Luke Barton, Harry Swann, Jack Pallant, Joe McGillivray, Harrison Holmes, Joseph Haylock, Jenson Miles, Sarah Bowen, Lily Charlesworth, Emily Walker, Abigail Marshall, Katie Lines, Alice Newnham-Stebbings, Naomi Boots, Kassie King, Caitlyn King, Kiara Jessop, Natasha Maw, Katie Hitter, Maddison Winney, Kiera Turner, Ellie Burwood, Imogen Block, Dan Smith.

Full results